TERRY HUGHES WINS TAFF

Terry Hughes, clearly the British choice, won the 1979 race to be the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund delegate to the 37th World Science Fiction Convention (Season '79) to be held in Brighton, England.

The voting was as follows:

CANDIDATE	N. Amer.	<u>U.K.</u>	TOTAL.
Fred Hawkoll	3 <i>5</i>	5	108
Terry Hagnes	4?	61	108
Suzanne Tompkins	30	10	40

One hundred and eighty-eight total votes. That's not too many.

As the retiring American administration of the Trans-Atlantic Fand Fund I want to thank the following on this side of the ocean who voted and/or contributed (as some did without voting) and helped to make this race a success:

Gil Gaier, Eric Lindsay, Ned Brooks, Jerry Kouffman, Linda Bushwager, Bon Bushyager, Margaret Gembonant, Andrew Porter, John Foyster, Ben Yallow, Virginia Kidd, Donald Fanson, Terusa Miffembres, Michael Fall, Suale Tompkins, Aurienne Fein, Doug Hoylman, Brian Fax: Eron, Bridgit Dzieole, Avedon Carol, Don Fitch, Joe Siclar!, CD Loyle, Hichard Harter, David Bratman, Mike Glicksohn, Larmaine Tutihasi, Kon Goltz, Geneva Steirberg, Jessich Salmonson, Fred Lerner, Jane Hawkins, Richard LaBonte, Gay Haldeman, Fli Cohen, Gary Farber, Marien Kiein, Gordon R. Dickson, Colleen Brown, Creath Thorne, Tom Parry, Bichard Stocker, Bob Vardeman, Lesleigh Luttrell, Dainis Bisenieks, Hank Luttrell, John D. Berry, Alyson Abramowitz, David Travis, Cary Deindorfus, Frank Denton, Rich Brown, Bill Bowers, Irwin Eirsch, Ken Fletcher, George Wells, Hope Leiberttz, Paul Nevitski, Craig Hughes, Brune Townley Claudle, Parmish, Arnie Katz, Dennis Lien, Joyce Katz, Tim Markon, Sally Voelker, Martin Schafer, Jan Appelbaum, Dave Wixon, Jennne Gomoli, J. Owen Ranner, Shenyl Mirkhead, Bjo Triuble, John Trimble, Douglas Corroll, Charles Burbee, N.D. Brewer, Mane Martin, David Klaus, Alice Radaukan, Terry Garay, Dan Goodman, Roger Sween, Larry Carcelly, Allyn Cadogan, Valua Brown, Leigh Edmonds, Wilson Goodson, Gwen Laurion, Sharon Maples, Rick Sneary, Rose Hogue, Least Couch, Mike Couch, Norhert Couch, Denys Howard, John Leland, John Meisel, Sandra Meisel, Jan Howard Finder, John Purceil, Gregg Trend, Steven Smollan, Len Moffatt, June Hoffatt, Briting Andruschak, Lester Boufillier, Sarah Prince, Joanne McBride. John Millard, Moshe Feder, Buck Coulson, Juanita Coulson, Chris Couch, Kennedy Poycer.

and
Ructy Hevelin
Fightange
and especially to

JOYCE SCRIVNER

Thanks also to all of those who made their contributions through the various auctions and to all of those fanzine editors who helped to distribute the ballots.

The next TAFF race will be to bring a fan from the European side of the atlantic to the 38th World SF convention to be held in Boston in 1980. You'll be hearing from the flexible fen listed below, who are the TAFF administrators, about that:

American Administrator Terry dugnes 4739 Washington Hivd. Arlington, Va. 22205

European Administrator Potes motures 38 Cabland Drive Dawlish, Devon, U.K.

And some final thoughts about TAFF and DUFF and other fan funds. Over the years the main support for the funds has come from the fanzines. Times change as does fandom and the fanzine fans are now a minority. The mass of fandom is now made up of convention and club fans. What is needed now is a way to get publicity and support for the funds well established in the conventions and the clubs. Joyce Scrivner and Busty Hevelin have done a lot in this direction but there are still thousands of fans who are completely blank when the funds are mentioned. If you have any thoughts on the matter, any ideas on how TAFF and DUFF can be made more significant to the newer fans and how more publicity can be achieved, send them along to Terry at the address above...or to Peter if you've a mind to do so.

Be seeing you,

ROY TACKETT 915 Green Valley Road NW Albuquarque, N.M. 87107 USA TAFF-emeritus